Oatmeal cookies, anyone?

Frankly, I’ve always wondered why anyone would ruin a perfectly good cookie by putting oatmeal in it. Don’t even get me started on raisins. They’re just humiliated grapes, you know. (points to anyone who gets that movie reference)

My darling husband has been lobbying for oatmeal cookies for years. It never happened because I don’t like them and much as he would like it, my DH doesn’t get a whole batch of cookies to himself. Some coworkers have also requested oatmeal cookies, so I decided to make them and see what happened. DH is more than happy to serve as quality control. (or at least, that’s what he calls it when he goes all cookie monster on my fresh baked goodies)

A literary side note: Abbey, my character in Odonata: City of Night would definitely favor anything made with oatmeal, being a health food type person. Katrina would like them because Odonata focus on food a lot. Superhuman senses mean that she can taste individual ingredients. Imagine a constant, intense flavor explosion on your tongue. If you could have that, wouldn’t you enjoy food as often as possible?

I used the recipe on the Quaker Oats lid, doubled it and used my beloved cookie dough scooper. Only alterations: including the optional cinnamon and extra vanilla – because I put extra vanilla in everything. I don’t measure. I just pour and stop when it feels right.

The first three dozen were raisin free, the final four were full of humiliated grapes. The batter was sticky and lumpy, and I couldn’t really tell when they were done. Looking for golden brown around the edges was the answer. Even then, they were pretty mushy when they came out of the oven. I was concerned that they were undercooked, but Cookie Monster… I mean, my DH, pronounced them perfectly chewy and good.

Here’s some pics. I didn’t try them, so I can’t say how they taste. My kind of cookies involve chocolate, not oats and raisins. But I’ll take a bunch to the office tomorrow, and I doubt I’ll get any complaints. 

Without raisins:

And with:

About jessicazellman

Writer. Reader. Cat cushion. Wannabe rocker chick. Baker. Gardener. Summertime rollerblader. Sporadic runner. Occasional knitter. Pizza addict. Dragonfly lover. Object of parrot's derision.

Posted on June 22, 2011, in Baking. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I happen to love that movie. One of my all time faves. My mom about killed me when I attempted to use her brand new iron to make grilled cheese. 😉

Leave a Reply

