Weirdness on a Tuesday

On the list of weird things in my life, this appeared on my arm yesterday.

IMAG0083_1_1

I didn’t notice anything at first except that my left arm itched just above my wrist. It started to swell a little, so I assumed it was a bug bite. It is summertime, after all and the mosquitoes love me. (revenge for my close relationship with Dragonflies, I’m sure.) It burned a bit after I scratched it, and for the life of me, I couldn’t figure out why the inside stayed white while the rest was red. Nevertheless, I put some Benadryl gel on it and went about my day.

The white center was just bizarre. I checked pictures of “bulls eye” rashes from tick bites online. Nope, it wasn’t that. The center appeared almost cross shaped.
Perhaps a priest snuck into my bedroom and tried to exorcise me! (I say “me” because clearly I am the demon in charge.) Well, that didn’t work.

click here to see exorcism

Finally, it occurred to me that the mark looked like a burn more than a bite, and rather like a phillips head screw.

Sure enough, I found the source, right on the curling iron I use every day in a vain attempt to add some body to my poker straight hair. (This is especially futile during humid summer days.)

iron
I have no idea how my left arm came in contact with this part of my curling iron, or why I didn’t notice it at the time. Nevertheless, I am labeling this mystery “solved,” though if anyone asks, I’m still blaming a failed exorcism.

JZ

About jessicazellman

Writer. Reader. Cat cushion. Wannabe rocker chick. Baker. Gardener. Summertime rollerblader. Sporadic runner. Occasional knitter. Pizza addict. Dragonfly lover. Object of parrot's derision.

Posted on August 7, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

